A Taste of Siargao Island

Photo: Boardwalk and Cloud 9, General Luna, Siargao Island

I planned this trip to celebrate my 30th year living in this world. My main quest for this trip is simple; eat, surf, write, drink, sleep, repeat. I did not plan to go island hopping or sight-seeing. This was my time alone to embrace my existence. Due to unexpected circumstances, what made this trip extra special was wonderful people that became my friends and the side quests along the way.
May 18, 2017, 7:20 AM

I arrived in the island of Siargao, Philippines. Thanks to SkyJet Airlines, I made to Siargao smoothly and without delays. 

I took a van which Risa, one of The Hangout managers, reserved me a van to go the hostel.  The weather was nice and hot. Once I arrived at the hostel, Ian, Ann, Abby and Risa, my new found friends welcomed me. Judging from their morning faces they had a long night partying at the island.

IMG_1315

Risa managed to point me to the right person to provide me a motorcycle. I was introduced to Kuya Joshua who provides motorcycle rental services near the public market. The rent costs 350 PHP per day. This is the first time i rode a traditional motorcycle. After a few trial and errors, I got the hang of it.

I asked my new friends where to rent a board and they introduced me to Vince and Bernie. Which they recommended Jing’s Place. I rented a 8’9 single fin pintail surfboard which cost 350 PHP per day. Bernie and I had a hearty lunch at a carinderia near The Hangout. A freshly fried fish, pumpkin stew and 2 cups of rice gave me enough energy that I need for the day. I rode to Boardwalk to witness Cloud 9, Quicksilver and Jacking Horse surf spots for the first time. 

Sleeping waves of Quicksilver and Cloud 9 and

Jacking Horse

Without luck, the tide is about to get low so I decided to surf the following morning. I spent the rest of my afternoon; laid-back, having beers and conversations with my new and very accommodating friends. I took some photos of this cozy place as well. You can stay at The Hangout for 350 php per night. What I love about The Hangout is the mesh beds, we can cook our meals, make new friends and literally hangout with them together with Riza, Priit (hostel managers) and Cruiser (house pet).

Rig: Canon EOS 1100D EF 50mm f/1.8 DSLR

IMG_1320

IMG_1347

IMG_1338

IMG_1332IMG_1330

IMG_1377Cruiser. One of the sweet and protective hosts at The Hangout.


May 19, 2017, 9:30 – 12:30 PM

Ann and Vince woke me up telling me that it was high tide. Without second thoughts and even without sunblock, we rode going to Boardwalk. The line-up for all the three spots were crowded. I decided to surf at Quicksilver. I paddled far back beyond the waves where it break. I observed for a few minutes. The waves are shoulder to head high, peak, fast and steep drops so it is a must to angle my take-offs. Tourists and locals are in rush hour, catching every wave they can catch. Party waves of 5-8 surfers per wave. I didn’t take the risk to join their hunger for waves so I picked and timed my waves. The first wave I caught was overwhelming and magical at the same time. It was again, fast and steep. What makes the wave magical is the crystal clear ocean. It’s like I am surfing with no water. I can see the reef running past underneath me.

Vince was waiting for me at the Boardwalk eating a fresh mango flavoured ice candy. I got jealous and ate two. While we rest before going back to my place, we talked about his life in Siargao, how he planned to stay there permanently, talked about other surf spots and how simple and steady there. I thought to myself, if was living in Cebu, I would do the same thing. I would ride the next boat going to the island. I will not force myself to go to Manila or stay in Cebu and hope to have a better job and pay. I can live the island life in Siargao and be richer than everybody else. Richer in satisfying the soul.

4:20 PM

I went to Harana Surf to grab a snack. I ordered a chicken based Shawarmasilog that costs around 200+ PHP. I expect the serving to be not enough for me. But I was wrong. The shawarma is as big as my arm. I could’nt eat it in one seating unless I’m very hungry. One of the best and biggest shawarma I have ever eaten in my life.


May 20, 2017, 12:43 AM

We met this charismatic guy Marty in the middle of the night selling soft tacos near The Hangout going to Tattoo Jungle Bar. He will offer you a free tagay of Emperador Lights while waiting for your soft tacos. His tacos were amazing that costs around 75 php. He had it coming, the people are partying late on a Friday night until Saturday morning. He expected that these party goers are hungry and they need a quick snack. Thanks to him, I missed a really bad hangover.

08:00 PM

Day 3 in the island of Siargao, Philippines. Staying at The Hangout. I’m writing, lying on my mesh bed; resting. We completed our island hopping with my new found friends. We went for a swim in the middle of the Philippine Sea.

We walked around Naked Island, without a care about the heat of the Sun. Then we had a few beers and had an island lunch; grilled pork belly and tuna in Daco Island.

20170520_114617

I surfed a couple of fun waves at Daco Reef. The tide is low so I was aware and careful to bail out after each wave. I was surfing knee to waist high peak waves.

Daco Reef

Then we finished the rest of the beers at Guyam Island. After hopping islands, I rode on my motorcycle, roamed around General Luna. Feeling the breeze of fresh as I drove around the island. A fine day living the island life; simple and steady.


May 21, 2017 07:30 – 11:30 AM

I went to Boardwalk for a surf check. The tide is low and only few surfers are around. I came back to The Hangout and grabbed my board and surfed at Jacking Horse. I paddled far up the line-up after the spot for surfing students with instructors. Only a female local surfer and me are waiting. I never expected to be only two of us surf by that time. Maybe due to the low tide. This was my opportunity to study how the peak waves break, how shallow and how fast and steep in Jacking Horse was. As the sun continues to rise, more and more locals of all ages joined us to surf but not the point that we are crowded. All I can see and hear are smiles, laughs and cheers from the locals. Since this was my last day at the island, I surfed until I got hungry and tired. I embraced that moment and wishing my surf trip would never end.

Special Thanks To:

The Hangout (FB: TheHangoutSiargao | IG: thehangoutsiargao)

New found Friends:IMG_1370

20170522_034237

  • Rize Hope Molo – Manager, The Hangout
  • Priit Roben – Manager, The Hangout
  • Mary Ann Talaba
  • John Ryan Jingco
  • Abbie Wamar
  • Angel Rose Banaag
  • Mylbon Kylie Rose Avila
  • Shane Marie Baliar
  • Vince Rabanes
  • Enin Rojas
  • Bernie “Bern” Torino
  • Erika Mioshi

Leave a Reply